Thoughts of a Schizo in Love

  Sunset.  Daybreak.  Minute melts into minute.  Same hours that the unseen walk.

  Those were the hours I draped myself in the burnt yellow glow of street lights.

  Those were the times I made it into tomorrow in the rain.

 

  Help me put this all together.

 

  I’m not sure how I got here, or where here is, really. 

  But I’m happy.

 

  I can’t tell you the shape of things, even when I try to.  I see the shadow of my hair falling, I hear strumming.  My body feels worn in marvelous ways. 

  I’m a little hungry, but not starving.

  I remember tonight in colors, and moments of fragmented clarity. 

 

  So, who am I today?

 

  Does it matter? 

 

  Should I cry?

 

  Nah,

        I’ll drink instead.

 

  Or drink down this delicious man, sitting right across from me.

 

  Maybe I should just breathe in the moment like the purest cocaine. 

Leave a Reply

